Council information

The City of Yarra is an inner metropolitan municipality which is home to a diverse community of about 92,610 people.

Yarra's 19.5 square kilometres include the suburbs of Abbotsford, Burnley, Clifton Hill, Collingwood, Cremorne, Fitzroy, North Carlton, North Fitzroy, Princes Hill and Richmond. Parts of Alphington and Fairfield - south of Heidelberg Road - are also included in Yarra.

The Yarra community is represented by 9 Councillors. The municipality is broken up into 3 geographic wards - Langridge Ward, Melba Ward and Nicholls Ward.

We have 2 types of council meetings: ordinary council meetings and Internal Development Approvals Committee (IDAC) meetings.

Where can I find council meeting minutes and agendas?  

You can view all our council meetings, agendas and minutes for 2017 on our Council meetings webpage.

You can view the 2016 council meetings and business papers in the past council meeting section. 

When are the council meetings?

We hold 2 ordinary council meetings each month and 2 Internal Development Approvals Committee meetings each month.

Where are the council meetings?

Council meetings are located at Richmond and Fitzroy town halls. 

Who can participate in council meetings?

Residents, business operators and other community members can all participate in the decision-making process.

How do I participate in the council meetings?

You can participate in the public question time component of the meeting. This is when you can ask questions of the Yarra City Council about any matter that is not on the meeting agenda. During the meeting, you can make verbal submissions about matters on the meeting agenda.

If you want to ask a question, you do not need to complete register in advance, just come along and raise your hand when the Mayor asks if there are any public questions. Each person may ask a maximum of 2 questions.

If you are unable to attend the meeting and wish to submit a question in writing, you need to complete the Public Question Time Form.

If you have 2 questions, you may submit 2 forms. Questions must be submitted by 12 noon on the day of the meeting.

What happens at the Internal Development Approvals Committee meetings?

The Internal Development Approvals Committee (IDAC) meeting has the authority to make decisions on applications for planning permits.

When planning permit applications have received 6 or more objections, they are usually determined by Internal Development Approvals Committee unless they have been refused by one of our planners.

Major developments are sometimes considered at regular council meetings rather than at Internal Development Approvals Committee.

All Councillors are members of Internal Development Approvals Committee on a rotational basis. Generally, 3 Councillors are present at each Internal Development Approvals Committee meeting.

Inner Melbourne Action Plan (IMAP) Committee minutes

A link to the agenda and minutes of meetings of the Inner Melbourne Action Plan Committee (IMAP) is available on the Inner Melbourne Action Plan page.