The Area

Yarra's 19.5 square kilometres include the suburbs of

  • Abbotsford
  • Alphington (south of Heidelberg Road)
  • Burnley
  • Carlton North
  • Clifton Hill
  • Collingwood
  • Cremorne
  • Fairfield (south of Heidelberg Road)
  • Fitzroy
  • Fitzroy North
  • Princes Hill
  • Richmond

Aboriginal Yarra

The Wurundjeri-willam people of the Kulin Nation are the Traditional Owners of the land that is now known as the City of Yarra.

We recognise them as the custodians of the cultural heritage of this land. Yarra, particularly Fitzroy and Collingwood, continues to be an important meeting place for Aboriginal people in Victoria. Read more about the Aboriginal Yarra.

Our history

Yarra's suburbs have a rich and varied history which is reflected in the city's built form, natural environment and diverse community composition. In the early years, Yarra was more industrial and was home to many iconic Australian brands such as Fosters Brewery, Heinz and the Rosella Jam and Sauce factory.

Over the years the industrial focus has shifted to a more residential and retail mix as the population and demand for inner city living has increased. As a result, many of the former factories have now been converted into highly sought after warehouse and studio apartments.

Find out more about heritage in Yarra

Parks and facilities

Today, Yarra boasts more than 230 hectares of open space. It is renowned for large historical gardens particularly Edinburgh Gardens in North Fitzroy and Darling Gardens in Clifton Hill. 

We also have many facilities that are available for hire. 

The Merri Creek and Yarra River, which form 2 of Yarra's boundaries, have adjoining linear open space reserves which are highly valued by residents of Yarra and wider metropolitan Melbourne for their recreational and nature conservation values.


You can also find out more about Yarra's area such as speed limits, planning zones, and parking permit zones through our YarraSPATIAL website.