Our Flags

Council's Town Halls at Collingwood, Fitzroy and Richmond are used to fly three official flags of Australia: the Australian National Flag, the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag.

In addition, each Town Hall is home to a civic flagpole. The civic flagpoles are reserved for the flying of flags that symbolise and celebrate the diverse community of the City of Yarra and are used for flying flags that have special meaning to all or part of Yarra's community. In flying these flags, Council celebrates Yarra's rich history and formally acknowledges the flag flown as one of significance to the City of Yarra.

All flags are flown in accordance with Council's Civic Flag Policy.

Civic flagpoles

The following flags are flown on our civic flagpoles throughout the year.

  • Aromantic Flag
  • Asexual Flag
  • Bisexual Flag
  • Brisbane Lions Football Club flag
  • Collingwood Football Club flag
  • Eureka Flag
  • Flag of Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
  • Flag of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons
  • Intersex Flag
  • Intersex Inclusive Pride Flag
  • Lesbian Pride Flag
  • Morning Star flag
  • Non Binary Pride Flag
  • Pansexual Pride Flag
  • Richmond Football Club flag
  • Transgender Flag
  • United Nations Flag
  • Vietnamese Yellow Flag

Details of exactly when and where each flag is flown can be found in the Civic Flag Policy.

Half Masting


Our Australian flags are flown at half mast in accordance with agreed national protocol.

Details of the reason our Australian flags are lowered are published on the websites of the Flag Notifications Team, Victorian Department of Premier and Cabinet or the Commonwealth Flag Network

On rare occasions, the Yarra City Council flag is flown at half mast on our civic flagpole to acknowledge the passing of a Councillor of the City of Yarra; a former Mayor of the City of Yarra or any of the former Cities of Collingwood, Fitzroy and Richmond; a member or former member of federal or state parliament who held a seat in an electorate in the City of Yarra; or an outstanding local citizen.


The Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag are both flown at half mast on:

  • 26 January
  • 15 April (anniversary of the release of National Report of the Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody on 15 April 1991)
  • 26 May (National Sorry Day and the anniversary of the tabling in the Commonwealth Parliament of Bringing Them Home: Report of the National Inquiry into the Separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children from Their Families on 26 May 1997)

The Australian National Flag is removed from display on those dates.