Melbourne 9 (M9)

Melbourne 9 (M9) is a collaborative partnership between nine inner Melbourne councils that work together to advocate for projects and issues of common interest. The M9 was established following a review and dissolution of the Inner Melbourne Action Plan (IMAP).

The councils that form the M9 are the cities of Yarra, Melbourne, Stonnington, Port Phillip, Moonee Valley, Maribyrnong, Moreland, Hobsons Bay and Darebin.

The M9 objectives are to:

  • undertake strategic, evidence-based, targeted and effective advocacy campaigns
  • engage strategically with key decision-makers to advocate on priority areas and build genuine partnership with government representatives
  • enable best practice to be shared across Greater Melbourne Councils
  • undertake joint partnerships and collective action, particularly where there are market failures and/or policy gaps.

The six strategic priorities of the M9 were established to ensure clarity and to provide direction.

They are as follows:

  • Active Transport
  • Affordable housing
  • Economic recovery
  • Community resilience
  • Waste and circular economy
  • Renewable energy

For more information, call Yarra City Council on 9205 5555 or email [email protected].