

Minutes

Extraordinary Council Meeting 6:30 pm, Tuesday 1 July 2025 <u>Richmond T</u>own Hall

Order of Business

1. Acknowledgement of Country	3
2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence	
3. Declarations of Conflict of Interest	3
4. Council Business Reports	5
4.1. Proposed Discontinuance of Road abutting 37-45 Best Street, Fitzroy North	5

1. Acknowledgement of Country

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people as the Traditional Owners and true sovereigns of the land now known as Yarra.

We acknowledge their creator spirit Bunjil, their ancestors and their Elders.

We acknowledge the strength and resilience of the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung, who have never ceded sovereignty and retain their strong connections to family, clan and country despite the impacts of European invasion.

We also acknowledge the significant contributions made by other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to life in Yarra.

We pay our respects to Elders from all nations here today—and to their Elders past, present and future."

2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence

Attendance

Councillors:

- o Cr Stephen Jolly Mayor
- Cr Sarah McKenzie Deputy Mayor
- Cr Andrew Davies
- o Cr Kenneth Gomez
- Cr Sharron Harrison
- o Cr Meca Ho
- o Cr Sophie Wade

Absent

 $\circ~$ Cr Edward Crossland ~ Parental Leave

Apology

• Cr Evangeline Aston

Council staff:

Chief Executive Officer			
0	Sue Wilkinson		
General Managers			
0	Sam Hewett	Infrastructure and Environment	
Governance			
0	Phil De Losa	Manager Governance and Integrity	
0	Patrick O'Gorman	Senior Governance Coordinator	
0	Mel Nikou	Governance Officer	

3. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

Cr Davies, Cr Gomez, Cr Jolly, Cr Harrison, Cr Ho, Cr McKenzie and Cr Wade declared that they had familiarised themselves with the matters being presented to this meeting and that they do not have a conflict of interest.

4. Council Business Reports

4.1. Proposed Discontinuance of Road abutting 37-45 Best Street, Fitzroy North

Author Fadi Fakhoury – Manager Property Services

Authoriser General Manager Infrastructure and Environment

Officer Recommendation

That Council:

- 1. Notes all written submissions made during the public notice period.
- 2. Acknowledges all speakers who have spoken in support of their written submissions.
- 3. Thanks the community for their submissions and active participation in the road discontinuance process.

Public Submissions

The following people addressed Council on the matter:

- 1. Brian Francis Dixon;
- 2. William Robb;
- 3. Anne Horrigan Dixon to speak on behalf of Sally Vivian;
- 4. Anne Horrigan Dixon to speak on behalf of Ray Tonkin;
- 5. Anne Horrigan Dixon to speak on behalf of Ceridwen Suiter;
- 6. Anne Horrigan-Dixon;
- 7. Marion Marshall;
- 8. Hayden Oberin;
- 9. Jonathan Graham;
- 10. Virginia Noonan to speak on behalf of Giselle Darling;
- 11. Virginia Noonan;
- 12. Timothy Geoffrey Gatehouse;
- 13. Hamish McKenzie;
- 14. Judi Kiraly;
- 15. Belinda Jack;
- 16. Leslie Maxwell Jones;
- 17. Sandra May Fraser;

- 18. Diana Courtney;
- 19. Heather Sharp;
- 20. Penelope Paul;
- 21. Adam Stead;
- 22. George Tieman and Barbara Collard;
- 23. Kylie Witt;
- 24. Elda Colagrande;
- 25. Susan Mahar;
- 26. Gregory Spark;
- 27. Ros McConville;
- 28. Trevor Cleve;
- 29. Joseph Piedimonte;
- 30. Robyn Henderson;
- 31. Simon Evans to speak on behalf of Louise Clayton and Philip Gardner;
- 32. David Young to speak on behalf of Graeme Willingham;
- 33. Linds Elisabeth Young;
- 34. Jan Anderson;
- 35. Francisca Hoffmann-Axthelm;
- 36. Terence Nott;
- 37. Anne Mullins;
- 38. John Haysey;
- 39. Mark Archer;
- 40. James Quealy;
- 41. David James Collins;
- 42. Fiona Bell;
- 43. Glen McCallum;
- 44. Kate Tregloan;
- 45. Anne Coveny; and
- 46. Simon Evans.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

Moved: Councillor Gomez Seconded: Councillor Wade

That Council:

- 1. Notes all written submissions made during the public notice period.
- 2. Acknowledges all speakers who have spoken in support of their written submissions.
- 3. Thanks the community for their submissions and active participation in the road discontinuance process.

CALL FOR A DIVISION

- **For:** Councillor Jolly, Councillor McKenzie, Councillor Davies, Councillor Gomez, Councillor Harrison, Councillor Ho and Councillor Wade
- Against: Nil

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Conclusion

The meeting concluded at 8.08pm.

Confirmed on Tuesday 8 July 2025

Mayor