

# Special Meeting of Council Minutes

held on Wednesday 19 July 2017 at 6.30pm Richmond Town Hall

www.yarracity.vic.gov.au

# 1. Statement of Recognition of Wurundjeri Land

"Welcome to the City of Yarra."

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri as the Traditional Owners of this country, pays tribute to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in Yarra and gives respect to the Elders past and present."

# 2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence

## **Attendance**

# Councillors

- Cr Amanda Stone (Mayor)
- Cr Danae Bosler
- Cr Mi-Lin Chen Yi Mei
- Cr Misha Coleman
- Cr Jackie Fristacky
- Cr Mike McEvoy
- Cr Daniel Nguyen
- Cr James Searle

# Council officers

- Vijaya Vaidyanath (Chief Executive Officer)
- Ivan Gilbert (Group Manager CEO's Office)
- Andrew Day (Director Corporate, Business and Finance)
- Chris Leivers (Director Community Wellbeing)
- Bruce Phillips (Director Planning and Place Making)
- Guy Wilson-Browne (Director City Works and Assets)
- Mel Nikou (Governance Officer)

# **Apology**

Cr Stephen Jolly

# 3. Declarations of conflict of interest (Councillors and staff)

Nil

# 4. Council business reports

| ltem |   | Page | Res.<br>Page |
|------|---|------|--------------|
| 4.1  | Presentation of Submissions to the amended draft 2017/18 Budget | 3    | 4            |

# 4.1 Presentation of Submissions to the amended draft 2017/18 Budget

Trim Record Number: D17/92895

Responsible Officer: Director Corporate, Business and Finance

## RECOMMENDATION

- 1. That Council:
  - receive and note written and oral submissions on the proposed 2017-21 Council Plan and 2017-18 draft Budget in accordance with Section 223 of the *Local Government Act* 1989 received during the submission period;
  - (b) resolves that submissions received regarding these documents be acknowledged, in writing, in accordance with section 223(1) (d) (ii) of the Act; and
  - (c) note that any matters arising from the submissions process will be referred for consideration and decision by Council on Tuesday 1 August 2017 in accordance with the Act.

Councillor McEvoy arrived at 6.48pm

# **COUNCIL RESOLUTION (PROCEDURAL)**

Moved: Councillor Fristacky Seconded: Councillor Chen Yi Mei

That standing orders be suspended and public submissions be limited to 2 minutes.

**CARRIED** 

# Public Submissions

The following people addressed Council on the matter:

Ms Jenny Gardner;

Ms Jane Miller;

Mr John Topfer;

Dr Virginia Dods;

Mr Herschel Landes;

Mr Clinton Kitt:

Mr Marcus Westbury;

Mr Paul Jackson;

Mr Ken Gomez:

Ms Dorothy James;

Mr Mark Waters; and

Mr Brad Marsh.

# **COUNCIL RESOLUTION**

Moved: Councillor Searle Seconded: Councillor Nguyen

1. That Council:

- (a) receive and note written and oral submissions on the proposed 2017-21 Council Plan and 2017-18 draft Budget in accordance with Section 223 of the *Local Government Act* 1989 received during the submission period;
- (b) resolves that submissions received regarding these documents be acknowledged, in writing, in accordance with section 223(1) (d) (ii) of the Act; and
- (c) note that any matters arising from the submissions process will be referred for consideration and decision by Council on Tuesday 1 August 2017 in accordance with the Act.

**CARRIED** 

| Conclusion                       |       |  |
|----------------------------------|-------|--|
| The meeting concluded at 7.22pm. |       |  |
| Confirmed Tuesday 1 August 2017  |       |  |
|                                  | Mayor |  |