

# Special Meeting of Council Minutes

held on Wednesday 17 May 2017 at 6.30pm Richmond Town Hall

www.yarracity.vic.gov.au

# 1. Statement of Recognition of Wurundjeri Land

"Welcome to the City of Yarra."

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri as the Traditional Owners of this country, pays tribute to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in Yarra and gives respect to the Elders past and present."

# 2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence

#### **Attendance**

# Councillors

- Cr Amanda Stone (Mayor)
- Cr Danae Bosler
- Cr Mi-Lin Chen Yi Mei
- Cr Misha Coleman
- Cr Jackie Fristacky
- Cr Stephen Jolly
- Cr Mike McEvoy
- Cr Daniel Nguyen

# Council officers

- Ivan Gilbert (Acting Chief Executive Officer)
- Andrew Day (Director Corporate, Business and Finance)
- Chris Leivers (Director Community Wellbeing)
- Joanne Murdoch (Director Advocacy and Engagement)
- Jane Waldock (Acting Director Planning and Place making)
- Guy Wilson-Browne (Director City Works and Assets)
- Fred Warner (Group Manager People, Culture and Community)
- Mel Nikou (Governance Officer)

#### Leave of absence

Cr James Searle

# 3. Declarations of conflict of interest (Councillors and staff)

Nil

# 4. Council business reports

ltem		Page	Res. Page
4.1	Presentation of Submissions to the Draft 2017- 21 Council Plan and Draft 2017-18 Budget	3	5

# 4.1 Presentation of Submissions to the Draft 2017- 21 Council Plan and Draft 2017-18 Budget

Trim Record Number: D17/55468

Responsible Officer: Chief Financial Officer e

#### RECOMMENDATION

- 1. That Council:
  - (a) receive and note written and oral submissions on the proposed 2017-21 Council Plan and 2017-18 draft Budget in accordance with Section 223 of the *Local Government Act* 1989 received during the submission period;
  - (b) resolves that submissions received regarding these documents be acknowledged, in writing, in accordance with section 223(1) (d) (ii) of the Act; and
  - (c) note that any matters arising from the submissions process will be referred for consideration and decision by Council on Tuesday 6 June 2017 in accordance with the Act.

# Public Submissions

The following people addressed Council on the matter:

- 1. Tobias Cummings;
- 2. David Brant (DAC);
- John Topfer;
- 4. Joanna Davidson (Abbotsford Primary School);
- 5. Lou Wheeler (Active Ageing Advisory);
- 6. Jeremy Lawrence;
- 7. Mark Waters;
- 8. Kerry Echberg (YCAN);
- 9. Benji (Abbotsford Primary School);
- 10. Michelle Pollock;
- 11. Chris Star (Yarra Bicycle Users Group);
- 12. Warren Giesbers (WARI);
- 13. Martin Brennan (Chair Fitzroy Residents Association);
- 14. Fiona Ross & Luke Bedwell (Friends of Public Housing Victoria);
- 15. Loraine Chessells;
- 16. Jane Miller;
- 17. Christopher Havre;
- 18. Frank Moore;
- 19. Jenny Gardner;
- 20. Ken Gardner;
- 21. Elaine Angelidis;
- 22. Libby Ward-Christie;
- 23. Rob Salter:

- 24. Vivien Regan;
- 25. Elizabeth Findlay;
- 26. Lawrie Chenoweth (Ivanhoe Northcote Canoe Club);
- 27. Justin O'Halloran;
- 28. Mary Atchison;
- 29. Peter Dansie;
- 30. Glenn Morrison;
- 31. Jo Knight;
- 32. Michael Gomm;
- 33. Rachel Jovic (Launch Housing);
- 34. Sindy Martino;
- 35. Ronan Lee;
- 36. Chris Nisiforou;
- 37. Zoran Jugovic;
- 38. Jim Pergadis;
- 39. Jenny Backholer;
- 40. Wallace Lehmann;
- 41. Sivy Orr;
- 42. Paul Mulhall;
- 43. Ida Schmid;
- 44. Dean Perry;
- 45. Trevor Smith (Princes Hill Secondary College);
- 46. Peter Vitale (Jack Dyer Pavilion Users Group);
- 47. Ken Gomez;
- 48. Paul Jackson;
- 49. Brad Marsh;
- 50. Dorothy James;
- 51. Helen Dyson;
- 52. Damien Bonnice;
- 53. Dr Virginia Dods (Yarra Residents Coalition);
- 54. Suzana Talevski;
- 55. Graham Aldridge;
- 56. Edward Gamble;
- 57. Marian Cook; and
- 58. Troy Parsons.

Councillor Chen Yi Mei left the meeting at 8.15pm Councillor Chen Yi Mei returned to the meeting at 8.18pm

Councillor Coleman left the meeting at 8.23pm

Councillor Coleman returned to the meeting at 8.25pm

Councillor Jolly left the meeting at 8.55pm

Councillor Jolly returned to the meeting at 9.00pm

Councillor Nguyen arrived at 9.08pm

# **COUNCIL RESOLUTION**

Moved: Councillor Jolly Seconded: Councillor Fristacky

#### 1. That Council:

- (a) receive and note written and oral submissions on the proposed 2017-21 Council Plan and 2017-18 draft Budget in accordance with Section 223 of the *Local Government Act* 1989 received during the submission period;
- (b) resolves that submissions received regarding these documents be acknowledged, in writing, in accordance with section 223(1) (d) (ii) of the Act; and
- (c) note that any matters arising from the submissions process will be referred for consideration and decision by Council on Tuesday 6 June 2017 in accordance with the Act.

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

Conclusion		
The meeting concluded at 9.13pm.		
Confirmed Tuesday 6 June 2017		
	Mayor	