

Special Meeting of Council Minutes

held on Tuesday 25 February 2020 at 7.05pm Fitzroy Town Hall

www.yarracity.vic.gov.au

1. Acknowledgement of Country

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people as the Traditional Owners and true sovereigns of the land now known as Yarra.

We acknowledge their creator spirit Bunjil, their ancestors and their Elders.

We acknowledge the strength and resilience of the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung, who have never ceded sovereignty and retain their strong connections to family, clan and country despite the impacts of European invasion.

We also acknowledge the significant contributions made by other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to life in Yarra.

We pay our respects to Elders from all nations here today—and to their Elders past, present and future."

2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence

Attendance

Councillors

- Cr Misha Coleman (Mayor)
- Cr Danae Bosler
- Cr Jackie Fristacky
- Cr Stephen Jolly
- Cr Bridgid O'Brien
- Cr James Searle
- Cr Amanda Stone

Council officers

- Vijaya Vaidyanath (Chief Executive Officer)
- Ivan Gilbert (Group Manager Chief Executive's Office)
- Bruce Phillips (Director Planning and Place Making)
- Amanda Haycox (Strategic Planner)
- Leonie Kirkwood (Project and Policy Coordinator, Strategic Planning)
- Mel Nikou (Governance Officer)

On leave of absence

Cr Mi-Lin Chen Yi Mei (Deputy Mayor)

Apology

Cr Daniel Nguyen

3. Declarations of conflict of interest (Councillors and staff)

Nil

4. Council business reports

Item		Page	Res. Page
4.1	Amendment C231 - Queens Parade	4	5

4.1 Amendment C231 - Queens Parade

Reference: D20/18744

Authoriser: Director Planning and Place Making

RECOMMENDATION

1. That Council notes the officer report on Amendment C 231.

2. That Council notes that a further officer report will be presented to Council for a decision on Amendment C231 in a subsequent Council meeting; likely to be on 17 March 2020.

Councillor Jolly arrived at 7.29pm

Public Submissions

The following people addressed Council on the matter:

- 1. David Young;
- 2. Emily MacDonald;
- 3. Janet Taylor;
- 4. Rosie Elliott;
- 5. Margaret Goding;
- 6. lan Wight;
- 7. Ken Gomez;
- 8. Marianne Van Leeuwen;
- 9. Tim Kiddle;
- 10. Rod Harris;
- 11. Yoke Mardewi;
- 12. Nicholas Bradley, HWL Ebsworth;
- 13. Keith Robertson;
- 14. Giovanni Gattini, G2 Urban Planning Pty Ltd;
- 15. Linda Young;
- 16. Giselle Darling
- 17. Glen McCallum;
- 18. Terence Nott;
- 19. Rodney Pemberton;
- 20. Virginia Noonan;
- 21. John Pilkington;
- 22. Cara Pilkington;
- 23. Allison Dorr;
- 24. Greg Spark;
- 25. Anne Horrigan-Dixon;
- 26. Evan Gill;
- 27. Justin Francis:

- 28. Anthony Cascone;
- 29. Helen Efthimiou;
- 30. Chris Goodman; and
- 31. Susan Mahar.

The Mayor left the meeting at 8.20pm.

Councillor Fristacky assumed the Chair.

The Mayor returned at 8.29pm

Councillor Jolly left the meeting at 9.20pm.

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

Moved: Councillor Fristacky Seconded: Councillor Stone

- 1. That Council notes the officer report on Amendment C 231.
- 2. That Council notes that a further officer report will be presented to Council for a decision on Amendment C231 in a subsequent Council meeting; likely to be on 17 March 2020.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Minutes Page 6

Conclusion		
The meeting concluded at 9.27pm.		
Confirmed Tuesday 3 March 2020		
	Mayor	
	iviayoi	