

Special Meeting of Council Minutes

held on Tuesday 12 March 2019 at 7.00pm Fitzroy Town Hall

www.yarracity.vic.gov.au

1. Statement of Recognition of Wurundjeri Land

"Welcome to the City of Yarra."

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri as the Traditional Owners of this country, pays tribute to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in Yarra and gives respect to the Elders past and present."

2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence

Attendance

Councillors

- Cr Danae Bosler (Mayor)
- Cr Misha Coleman (Deputy Mayor)
- Cr Mi-Lin Chen Yi Mei
- Cr Jackie Fristacky
- Cr Stephen Jolly
- Cr Mike McEvoy
- Cr James Searle
- Cr Amanda Stone

Council officers

- Ivan Gilbert (Group Manager Chief Executive's Office)
- Bruce Phillips (Director Planning and Place Making)
- Rhys Thomas (Senior Governance Advisor)

Apology

Cr Daniel Nguyen

3. Declarations of conflict of interest (Councillors and staff)

Nil

4. Council business reports

Item		Page	Res. Page
11.1	Planning Scheme Amendment C231 - Queens Parade - summary of submissions	3	4

4.1 Planning Scheme Amendment C231 - Queens Parade - summary of submissions

Trim Record Number: D19/18175

Responsible Officer: Director Planning and Place Making

Help

RECOMMENDATION

1. That Council:

- (a) receives all written and verbal submissions to Amendment C231.
- extends its appreciation to all submitters and to those people presenting at this meeting.
- (c) notes that a further report will be presented to an Ordinary Council meeting on 28 May 2019, that will:
 - (i) provide an officer report and a recommended response to the specific issues raised in submissions for Council consideration, and
 - (ii) enable Council to determine whether to refer Amendment C231 and all submissions to an independent Planning Panel to be appointed by the Minister for Planning.

Public Submissions

The following people addressed Council on the matter:

Dale Simpson

Kenneth Gomez

Tim Gatehouse

Glenn McCallum

Chris Goodman

Virginia Noonan

Charles Sowerwine

Terry Nott

Helen Holdsworth

Linda Young

David Young

Glenn McCallum

Keith Robertson

Janet Taylor

Lindsay Round

Justin Francis

Giselle Darling

Rosemary Adams

John Hayhoe

Paul Jackson

Ann Coveny

Paul Thompson

Simon Evans

Rodney Pemberton

John Price

Graeme Loughlin

Mariannce van Leeuwen

Jennifer Colbert

Bianca Mellor

Mary Horsfield

Cr Jolly left the meeting at 8.02pm

Cr Jolly returned to the meeting at 8.05pm

Cr Chen Yi Mei left the meeting at 8.18pm

Cr Chen Yi Mei returned to the meeting at 8.21pm

COUNCIL RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Jolly Seconded: Cr Coleman

- 1. That Council:
 - (a) receives all written and verbal submissions to Amendment C231.
 - (b) extends its appreciation to all submitters and to those people presenting at this meeting.
 - (c) notes that a further report will be presented to an Ordinary Council meeting on 28 May 2019, that will:
 - (i) provide an officer report and a recommended response to the specific issues raised in submissions for Council consideration, and
 - (ii) enable Council to determine whether to refer Amendment C231 and all submissions to an independent Planning Panel to be appointed by the Minister for Planning.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Conclusion	
The meeting concluded at 9.09pm.	
Confirmed Tuesday 19 March 2019	
	Mayor