Community Award Winners for 2022: Honouring Yarra's Everyday Heroes

Tuesday 15 November 2022

Group photo of Yarra Community Awards 2022 winners

Each year, we honour the everyday heroes who make outstanding contributions to our community with the Yarra Community Awards.

Last night, we announced this year’s winners.

And the winners are…

  • Citizen of the Year: Steven Jiang
  • Young Citizen of the Year: Nicholas Tsekouras
  • Community Initiative of the Year: Jo Buckle
  • Contributions to Arts: Miski Awad
  • Contributions to Heritage: Ian Wight
  • Contributions to Sport: Meredith Oldham
  • Contributions to Diversity and Inclusion: Mzuri Dance ArtisTree Fund Inc.

Creating a vibrant, diverse and inclusive Yarra 

From supporting culturally and linguistically diverse communities during the COVID-19 pandemic to helping young people express themselves through art and saving litres of green waste from landfill – this year’s Community Awards recipients have led the way in creating a vibrant, inclusive and sustainable environment in Yarra. 

Yarra Mayor Sophie Wade said although the community have done it tough the last two years, it’s only demonstrated how unique the people of Yarra really are.

“Over the last few years, we’ve seen our community come together and look after each other. We’ve seen so many everyday heroes doing incredible things. Each of them have shown us how connected, compassionate and inspiring community is here in Yarra.”

Thanks to everyone who submitted a nomination for this year’s awards. We appreciate your role in celebrating Yarra’s community heroes and sharing their uplifting stories and hard work. 

Read the stories of our Community Award Winners


Search for news