Applications are now open for the 2020 Keir Choreographic Award

Wednesday 19 June 2019

Dancer holds neon sign reading 'Please! Don't Touch Contestants'
Geoffrey Watson in 'Post Reality Vision', Nana Biluš Abaffy – commissioned for the 2018 Keir Choreographic Award. Image by Gregory Lorenzutti for Dancehouse (detail).

The Keir Foundation, Dancehouse, Carriageworks and Australia Council for the Arts today announced a cash prize increase to $50,000 for the winner of the now prestigious award, known as the KCA, as well as an all-star jury including the colossal icon of US post-modern dance, Lucinda Childs.

The biennial competition will accept entries from June 18 until July 14, 2019 for works to be presented in March 2020.

The 2020 KCA jurors selecting eight new commissions to compete in the semi-finals at Dancehouse, Melbourne, and finals at Carriageworks, Sydney, are: PAOLA BALLA (Wemba Wemba and Gunditjmara, AUS); LUCINDA CHILDS (USA); METTE EDVARDSEN (NO); SERGE LAURENT (FR); and TAKAO KAWAGUCHI (JP).

In addition to the $10,000 audience choice award, in 2020 Dancehouse and Carriageworks have committed to commission two of the eight competing works to be developed as full length works – expanding the rewards and reach of this one-of-a-kind commissioning program.

More information and applications here





Search for news