

1. Statement of recognition of Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Land

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people as the Traditional Owners and true sovereigns of the land now known as Yarra.

We acknowledge their creator spirit Bunjil, their ancestors and their Elders.

We acknowledge the strength and resilience of the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung, who have survived European invasion and never ceded sovereignty.

We also acknowledge the significant contribution made by the many other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to life in Yarra.

We acknowledge that Fitzroy and Collingwood are areas of special significance to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people—as the cradle of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander affairs in Victoria, the birthplace of important Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander organisations, the centre of political activism and a meeting place for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to link in with family, community and services.

We acknowledge the role played by past federal and state government policies in the social and cultural dispossession of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people—and the dispossession of land—which has caused the current disadvantages faced by many Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. And we believe that having an awareness of, and taking steps towards, mending this disadvantage is the shared responsibility of all residents in the City of Yarra.

Council pays its respects to all in the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community and Elders from all nations with us today - and to their Elders past, present and future."

2. Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence

Attendance

0 01 11 11

Councillors

•	Cr Claudia Nguyen	Mayor
•	Cr Edward Crossland	Deputy Mayor
•	Cr Michael Glynatsis	Councillor
•	Cr Stephen Jolly	Councillor
•	Cr Herschel Landes	Councillor
•	Cr Anab Mohamud	Councillor
•	Cr Bridgid O'Brien	Councillor
•	Cr Amanda Stone	Councillor
•	Cr Sophie Wade	Councillor

Council staff

Chief Executive Officer

• ;	Sue Wilkinson	Chief Executive Officer
-----	---------------	-------------------------

General Managers

	3	
•	Brooke Colbert	Governance, Communications and Customer Experience
•	Sam Hewett	Infrastructure and Environment
•	Kerry McGrath	Community Strengthening
•	Mary Osman	City Sustainability and Strategy
•	Jenny Scicluna	Corporate Services and Transformation

Governance

Phil De Losa Manager Governance and Integrity

Rhys Thomas Senior Governance Advisor

Mel Nikou Governance Officer

3. Announcements

Mayors reflection

Thank you Councillors for a memorable year, I have learnt so much from each and every one of you and I also want to acknowledge your commitment to this community and all your hard work in the past year. I also want to particularly thank Sophie and Ed who have really supported me in the past year. So, thank you for that!

To the community, it has been a privilege to advocate for you on issues such as, planning, transport, housing and so much more and on forums such as Local Government Ministerial Advisory Task Force, Metropolitan9 Council and many other forums. I have enjoyed meeting many from the community at my many fortnightly 'Meet the Mayor' events and I want to particularly thank Milicia for joining me at most of them rain or shine.

To the organisation, the CEO, Executive and every member of this organisation, I would like to thank you for your extreme hard work this past year. I've seen you in action at briefings, organising events and when out and about in the community and appreciate the hard work you do for us and the community.

To my partner, my mum, my friends, my family I thank you for your support this year, you have attended event with me and you have always made sure to check in with me. There has been some highs and lows and have been very grateful to have you by my side.

It has been an honour to have served you as Mayor this year and so I will be signing off. Thank you everybody!

4. Declarations of conflict of interest (Councillors and staff)

Councillors Crossland, Glynatsis, Jolly, Landes, Mohamud, Nguyen, O'Brien, Stone and Wade declared that they had familiarised themself with the matters being presented to this meeting and that they do not have a conflict of interest.

Councillor Mohamud arrived at the meeting at 6.37pm.

5. Council business reports

Item		Page	Res. Page
5.1	Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor	4	-

5.1 Election of Mayor and Deputy Mayor

Reference D23/422234

Author Rhys Thomas - Senior Governance Advisor

Authoriser General Manager Governance, Communications and Customer Experience

The election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor is conducted in accordance with the Yarra City Council Governance Rules 2020. No Council resolution is required.

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations of Mayor:

Councillor Nguyen nominated Councillor Crossland.

Councillor Crossland accepted.

Councillor O'Brien nominated Councillor Stone.

Councillor Stone accepted.

Councillor Landes nominated himself.

No further nominations were received

In order of nomination, the candidates were:

Cr Edward Crossland;

Cr Amanda Stone; and

Cr Herschel Landes.

The Chief Executive Officer then invited each Councillor to address the meeting.

After the three elected Councillors addressed the meeting the Chief Executive Officer called for each Councillor to vote by a show of hands.

In order of nomination, the following votes were:

Voting for Cr Edward Crossland: Councillors Wade, Crossland, Jolly, Glynatsis and Nguyen.

In accordance with Chapter Two, Rule 6.1 of the Yarra City Council Governance Rules, the Chief Executive Officer declared Councillor Crossland elected as Mayor for 2023/2024.

The Mayor assumed the Chair.

The Mayor called for nominations of Deputy Mayor:

Councillor Landes nominated himself.

Councillor Mohamud nominated herself.

No further nominations were received.

In order of nomination, the candidates were:

Cr Herschel Landes; and

Cr Anab Mohamud.

The Mayor then invited each of the candidates to address the meeting.

The Mayor then asked Councillors to vote by show of hands.

In order of nomination, the following votes were:

Voting for Cr Herschel Landes: Councillors Landes and Nguyen.

Voting for Cr Anab Mohamud: Councillors Jolly, Glynatsis, Mohamud, Crossland, Wade, Stone

and O'Brien

In accordance with Chapter Two, Rule 6.1 of the Yarra City Council Governance Rules, the Mayor declared Councillor Mohamud elected as Deputy Mayor for 2023/2024.

The Mayor addressed Council and then invited Councillors to address Council.

Conclusion		
The meeting concluded at 7.1	10pm.	
Confirmed Tuesday 12 Decei	mber 2023	
_		
	Mayor	

Council Meeting Minutes – 15 November 2023	