

#### 1. Statement of recognition of Wurundjeri Woi-wurrung Land

"Yarra City Council acknowledges the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung people as the Traditional Owners and true sovereigns of the land now known as Yarra.

We acknowledge their creator spirit Bunjil, their ancestors and their Elders.

We acknowledge the strength and resilience of the Wurundjeri Woi Wurrung, who have never ceded sovereignty and retain their strong connections to family, clan and country despite the impacts of European invasion.

We also acknowledge the significant contributions made by other Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people to life in Yarra.

We pay our respects to Elders from all nations here today—and to their Elders past, present and future."

#### Attendance, apologies and requests for leave of absence 2.

#### **Attendance**

#### Councillors

•	Cr Sophie Wade	Mayor
•	Cr Michael Glynatsis	Councillor
•	Cr Stephen Jolly	Councillor
•	Cr Herschel Landes	Councillor
•	Cr Anab Mohamud	Councillor
•	Cr Claudia Nguyen	Councillor
•	Cr Bridgid O'Brien	Councillor
•	Cr Amanda Stone	Councillor

#### Council staff

# Chief Executive Officer

 Sue Wilkinson Chief Executive Officer

#### General Managers

 Brooke Colbert Governance, Communications and Customer Experience

 Kerry McGrath Community Strengthening

Peter Moran Infrastructure and Environment (Acting)

City Sustainability and Strategy Mary Osman

Jenny Scicluna Corporate Services and Transformation

#### Governance

Rhys Thomas

Phil De Losa Manager Governance and Integrity Senior Governance Adviser

Mel Nikou Governance Officer

#### Apology

 Cr Edward Crossland **Deputy Mayor** 

#### 3. **Declarations of conflict of interest (Councillors and staff)**

No declarations were made.

# 4. Council business reports

Item		Page	Res. Page
4.1	Hearing of Community Feedback in Relation to the Draft 2023/24 Budget and Associated Documents	4	5

# 4.1 Hearing of Community Feedback in Relation to the Draft 2023/24 Budget and Associated Documents

**Reference** D23/187958

Author Shane Looney - Corporate Planner

**Authoriser** General Manager Corporate Services and Transformation

### **RECOMMENDATION** Start time: 6.35pm

1. That Council:

- (a) receives and notes the written and verbal feedback received in relation to the Draft 2023/24 Budget, Draft Long Term Financial Plan 2023/24 to 2032/33 and Draft Revenue and Rating Plan 2023/24; and
- (b) thanks the community members for their attendance in support of their written feedback.

Councillor Wade arrived at 6.35pm

Councillor Landes arrived at 6.39pm

# Public Submissions

The following people addressed Council:

Stephen Koklas;

David Balding (Submission 53);

Harrison Watt (Submission 61);

Michael Malakonas, Football Club Clifton Hill;

Meredith Kefford, YCAN (Submission 60);

Brett Willemsen:

Mark Hoare (Submission 22);

Jeremy Lawrence, Streets Alive Yarra (Submission 67);

Marion Attwater;

Mohamed Ahmed;

Lisa Byrne;

Ernesto Arriagada; and

Alyson Macdonald.

### **COUNCIL RESOLUTION**

Moved: Councillor Wade Seconded: Councillor Mohamud

1. That Council:

- (a) receives and notes the written and verbal feedback received in relation to the Draft 2023/24 Budget, Draft Long Term Financial Plan 2023/24 to 2032/33 and Draft Revenue and Rating Plan 2023/24; and
- (b) thanks the community members for their attendance in support of their written feedback.

**CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY** 

Council Meeting Minutes – 5 June 2023						
Conclusion						
The meeting concluded at 7	.14pm.					
Confirmed Tuesday 20 June	2023					
		Mayor				

Council Meeting Minutes – 5 June 2023		