2016 Australia Day Award Winners

Yarra's Australia Day awards were presented at Council's annual Australia Day citizenship ceremony held on 26 January 2016.

The awards recognise individuals and groups who have made an outstanding contribution to the Yarra community.

Citizen of the Year – Sophie Daws

Sophie has worked tirelessly for many years as a volunteer, cooking, cleaning, and looking after disabled persons in the local community. She drives homeless people around on weekends to reduce social isolation, and also volunteers for several organisations, coordinating food distribution to multiple agencies.  

Sophie runs and trains volunteers for a community lunch program at The Wellington. She assists the local Salvation Army chapter, Collingwood St Vincent's Op shop and is referred to as 'the glue', for without her support, hard work and encouragement organisations like The Wellington would not be able to operate or help the number of people that they do.    

Living in a housing commission house, Sophie is a mother for two, and while caring for her son with special needs she still finds time to give back to the community in so many different ways.

Community Service of the Year Award - FareShare

The Abbotsford organisation, employing over 7,000 volunteers, to save over 500,000kgs of food that then goes towards over 1 million free meals for over 400 charities was a worthy winner.

Young Citizen of the Year Award - Rebecca Chapman

Rebecca has been volunteering with Eating Disorders Victoria (EDV) since early 2013. Starting as a Helpline volunteer and Support Group Convenor she quickly illustrated commitment and initiative, and has since been involved in various organisational projects.  

Further Information
Simon Osborne
Civic Events Advisor
9205 5071

Back to top
Back to top Back to top