New Residential Zones

Council recently sought community feedback on new residential zones proposed for Yarra. The period for community feedback ended on Friday 7 March 2014.  

In July 2013, the State Government introduced three new residential zones for every municipality in Victoria to replace the existing Residential 1, 2 and 3 zones. The new zones are:

Neighbourhood Residential Zone – provides a high level of protection for neighbourhood character, with height limits and limited opportunity for increased residential development.  

General Residential Zone – encourages moderate growth and housing diversity in areas with good access to services and transport

Residential Growth Zone – provides for increased housing growth and density.

Council has until July to apply the new zones in Yarra, otherwise every residential area will automatically become a General Residential Zone. 

What zone will apply to my property?

To see what zone Council proposed for your property, visit and type in your address.

Council is compiling community feedback received during February and March and will prepare a final report to be considered by Council at a public meeting. Following this meeting, Council is expected to submit a final proposal to the Minister for Planning. 

Further information
Strategic Planning Unit
9205 5023

Back to top
Back to top Back to top