Ward maps

The Yarra community is represented by a total of nine Councillors, with three  Councillors elected in each of the city's three wards.

A review of Council's electoral structure was undertaken by the Victorian Electoral Commission in 2011. The outcome of the review was that Council's structure (i.e. number of Councillors and wards) will remain the same but that some changes will be made to the boundaries of the three internal wards. These changes will be made to ensure that the population of each ward is more evenly balanced.

These changes applied during the Victorian local government elections in October 2012. 

In the meantime, please find below information about the wards and maps of the current boundaries.


Information about Council wards

The names of the three wards recognise important local people:

  • Nicholls Ward, named after Pastor Sir Doug Nicholls, the revered sportsman, Aboriginal community leader and statesman who was associated with Fitzroy for many years
  • Langridge Ward, named after George David Langridge, a prominent 19th century Mayor of Collingwood, Member of Parliament, Acting Premier and housing developer, after whom Langridge Street is also named, and
  • Melba Ward, named after Dame Nellie Melba, the international opera singer, who grew up in Doonside in Richmond.
Maps - The City of Yarra and Ward Boundaries


View Yarra City Council Boundary in a larger map

View Nicholls Ward in a larger map

View Langridge Ward in a larger map

View Melba Ward in a larger map


Further information
9205 5555

Back to top
Back to top Back to top