Media Releases 2012

Election results bring new faces to Yarra Council

29 October 2012

Last weekend’s local government elections have delivered four new Councillors to Yarra.

Twenty-one candidates stood for election across Yarra’s three wards as the votes were counted on Saturday.

Confirmation of the final count on Sunday night showed Melba Ward had witnessed the most sweeping changes, with all three candidate positions claimed by new faces.

Simon Huggins (ALP), Misha Coleman (Greens) and Phillip Vlahogiannis (Ind) won a place on the new Council, replacing former Councillors Josh Funder (who didn’t re-nominate), Dale Smedley and Alison Clarke.

In Nicholls Ward, incumbents Jackie Fristacky (Ind) and Sam Gaylard (Greens) were returned comfortably and will be joined by another new face in Roberto Colanzi (ALP), who was elected as the ward's third member after Anthony Main (Socialist Party) stood for election in Melba Ward.

Mr Main, along with incumbent Dale Smedley, lost a closely fought battle for Melba's third elected position to independent Phillip Vlahogiannis. 

Representation in Langridge Ward remained unchanged after the vote with Stephen Jolly (Socialist Party), Amanda Stone (Greens) and Geoff Barbour (ALP) all returning for another term on Council.

Yarra City Council’s CEO Vijaya Vaidyanath said she was looking forward to working with the new Councillors.

“I would like to thank all of the candidates who nominated this year and campaigned for the rights and interests of Yarra’s community,” she said.

“Voters have made their voice heard at the ballot box, and the results indicate this new Council has the right mix of experience and fresh ideas to hit the ground running.

“I also thank the outgoing Councillors for their dedication and tireless contributions as representatives of the previous Council.

“It has been a pleasure to get to know them and work with them over the last few months and I wish them all success in the next chapter of their lives.”

You can find out more information about Yarra’s election results on the Victorian Electoral Commission’s website here.

Further information
Toby Walker
Senior Communications Officer
9205 5120

Back to News Listing Back to top
Back to top Back to top